Trim

I am an instrument student flying Elite Flight Center’s SR20. I seem to have a very hard time trimming it because I find the trim to be extremely sensitive. Is it just this airplane, or are they all hard to trim, and if they are hard to trim, is there a secret to it?

Thanks!
Robert

Robert, I think trimming is one of the most difficult things in the Cirrus. The coolie switch is extremely sensitive. The only trick is to use very - and I mean very - brief tapping inputs. Also be sure you hit the switch on the “cardinal headings” so that you’re applying only pitch or roll trim at any given time.
It’s frustrating but can be mastered with practice.
After I got my plane I wanted to teach my wife how to land it and the most difficult part was getting her to learn how to trim it. We went up for an hour and I would constantly get out of trim and give her the airplane to trim back to straight and level. She got the hang of it but it took time. Just practice.

I found mine impossible to trim. When I practice on MSFS2002, I simulate a Cirrus by only trimming 1/2 seconds increments. It then just like my plane, it can’t be flown hands off, so you get a lot of practice with your instrument scans. That is why in real life, if the autopilot doesn’t work, any long flight in IMC is a no go.

Robert,

The autopilot does a nice job at trimming the airplane!

I find the roll trim to be almost impossible to get exactly right. To compensate I get it ever so slightly trimmed to the left and then roll tiny pressures onto the stick with my hand. Conceptually, I don’t understand why the plane needs such a large travel in roll trim. It seems that the trim could be made more sensitive so that smaller adjustments would be possible.

Just two things to remember:

1. Shortest Tap possible, pitch or roll, but not together.
  2. Wait and see what happens, don’t chase it by constantly adjusting.

They are slippery birds and small changes to Angle of Attack seem to take a while to work through.