Training on CAPS deployment

I am an Embry-Riddle student working on a masters degree in aeronautics. I am working on a research paper examining the human factors involved in the use of the Cirrus Airframe Parachute System (CAPS), with a focus on the training for this system.

I would like to know what training new Cirrus owners receive, as well as any recurrent or additional training that is available on the CAPS. IÂ’ve heard that some companies offer Cirrus simulator training. Has anyone done this?

The use of military ejection seats is the only comparison that may be relevant. IÂ’ve heard that the greatest reason for an unsuccessful ejection is a delayed ejection decision and that the military addresses this issue through training scenarios that help pilots identify conditions necessary for ejection. IÂ’m still trying to obtain studies to support what IÂ’ve heard.

How do members of the Cirrus community address the issue of making the CAPS deployment decision? Are the situations under which CAPS should be deployed black and white, or are there grey areas?

Thanks for your help in this matter.

Sincerely,
Eric Laing

Eric,

Are you studying at Embry-Riddle here in Prescott, AZ?

Walt

Eric, please let us know if you do not have access to the Cirrus training materials, which I would hope that E-R students could find. Otherwise, some of us can help.

As you’ll see from my comments below, I’m personally interested in following your work. Let’s hope you get an A!

Initial factory training includes CAPS activation, and elaborates on the POH discussion. When I got my plane in 2001, the discussion was much more involved than the POH descriptions, partly due to my curiosity, its novelty, and the wisdom of my instructor. However, since then, revisions to the POH have included almost everything that I recall discussing.