Rescue Parachute System

Dear COPA Members,I am a student at Pepperdine University in Malibu, California and am currently working on a project studying trends in the GA industry. As the Cirrus planes are the only ones to use CAPS and are the best selling plane currently, I am curious to know how important a role the CAPS parachute system played in your purchasing decision. For those of you who are not Cirrus owners, how attractive is this feature to you? On a scale of 1 (insignificant) to 10 (significant) how important a role did this feature play in your attraction to this aircraft? Also, I would be very interested to hear any thoughts or opinions anyone might have on the CAPS system generally. Because this is required research for me I would love it if you could please send your responses to kelly.spann@pepperdine.edu instead of (or in addition to) posting responses on the board as I know message boards can often get off on quite a random tangent!Thank you,Kelly Spann

In reply to:

Because this is required research for me I would love it if you could please send your responses to kelly.spann@pepperdine.edu instead of (or in addition to) posting responses on the board as I know message boards can often get off on quite a random tangent!

Certainly our board isn’t like that, is it? [;)]

If you need an absolute number for your research, I would rate the system about “4” in terms of how significant it was in choosing the Cirrus.

When picking up the Cirrus, if you’d have asked me whether I would prefer the 'chute or an extra 80-100 lbs of useful load, I would have definitely picked the useful load.

However, now that I have it, and have gotten used to it there, whenever I start entertaining ideas of getting rid of the Cirrus to get something else (in my case, to save money - see the insurance thread elsewhere!), the thought of flight at night without the parachute does make me think twice about it.