Potential new Cirrus G1/G2 owner

Hi everyone. I’m a new pilot with ~110 hours in mostly Piper and Garmin. Working with my brokers on my first plane purchase and SR22 seems to check all the boxes for me and my mission. However, my budget is going to keep me in the G1 or G2 category, which likely means Avidyne avionics. It’s been mentioned by others to me to be cautious buying a plane with those. I’ve heard everything from “they’re practically out of busineess” to “the support just isn’t there”. Haven’t heard much positive, but also saw the new upgrade program they’re supposed to be releasing in the beginning of next year, which looks promising.

My question is to the forum members here who have these avionics. What has your experience been? Are they reliable? Is the support where one would expect it to be? Any feedback would be greatly apprecated, and I do plan on buying a full membership here once I make my airplane purchase.

Hi Dan,

There are many satisfied Avidyne customers, including myself. The others similar to me find the heritage EX5000 system to be a bit simpler than the Garmin perspective (+) systems and easier to transition into.

Avidyne support comes at a cost, but has always been prompt and effective for me, and the company is very much still in business.

Post 2008 Garmin Perspective Cirrus models have a disadvantage in that the avionics are part of their type certification, making future upgrades more difficult than Avidyne planes.

Asking about Garmin vs Avidyne is kind of like asking about people’s taste in different foods. Everyone has a different perspective.

2 Likes

Hi Dan and welcome to COPA!

Lots of discussion on this behind the pay wall. Only $95 and we’ll give you your money back if you’re not satisfied!

Avidyne is a great set up. If the price is right, I wouldn’t let it stop me.

2 Likes