Is this standard in training ??

I am a post solo student at 32 hours. While doing pattern work at night with my CFI , he requested on final that the tower turn off the runway lights. I completed that landing but was a little suprised. He thereafter turned off the plane landing light and then the flood light. After discussion he told me that at a non towered airport with electrical failure in the plane that i wouldent be able to turn on the lights. I understand the purpose for this exercise but wonder what others on the forum think ?

First, I remember having gone through similar training. I wouldn’t comment on this particular exercise not knowing the field or surrounding terrain. For example, I wouldn’t allow anyone to do that to me in the mountains with trees on both ends of the runway. I would permit it on my home field.

If you think your experience is a bit sketchy, how about this one. I was flying touch and goes during my primary training with a CFI in a C172. On the downwind, he tells me take my hands off the yoke and feet flat (no rudder) and land the plane. I said I could land the plane but not on the runway as I couldn’t bank. Make a long story short, I was able to land the plane using trim tab for pitch and opening the door of the C172 to bank as needed. True story.

Personally, I think it’s a good exercise to practice with a CFI, especially on a large wide runway. There are a number of these “tricks” which good CFIs occasionally pull (a recent thread discussed making students fly the pattern without an airspeed indicator), that can come in handy someday. My primary instructor didn’t do the no-runway-lights thing but I had a later instructor do it during a BFR - it had never occurred to me before then but I think it’s a useful exercise…

Absolutely necessary to do for night training. Thats why you carry a flashlight. .

It never happened to me! And I do carry a flashlight which is a normal size.