Another training question

I am a 33 hour student post solo. My recent flight with my CFI was unusual as he had me practice engine out on climb out with return to field at 500 , 400 and 300 feet agl. I was flying a diamond da20. The maneuvers went well and i was able to land without problem. The steep bank of the turn and the speed control during was a challenge with the stall horn blaring the entire time. The decent view was a bit intimating as well. Is the something that you seasoned pilots would recommend ?

The Diamond DA20 is a forgiving machine, and 500 feet return with an experienced pilot is an easy do. 400/300 making me nervous now. Don’t try any of this in a Cirrus or most any high performance aircraft.

Wow!

300 AGL for the impossible turn! I personally think this is pushing your luck. But I am no CFI!

The DA20 is almost a motorglider, but even with gliders at 300 ft we would go straight in case of rope break!

Interesting article here

I’d like to hear from a few of the active instructors on this forum. Tom is a friend of mine who I encouraged to take up flying. He’s a doctor and is thinking about buying a Cirrus. His goals are to use GA for practical transportation over fairly long distances.

When he told me about practicing landing at night with no landing light and no runway lights, I thought that was unusual for a private pilot student. When he then told me about the teardrop returns from low altitude, I became quite upset. After all, I referred him to the flight school. I told him about the fatalities with CFI’s in the right seat from this maneuver. Tom Mackel probably has something to say on the subject.