Cps

I am interested in purchasing a SR22 GTS? A plane went down in Nordeen Ca. The Caps was activated and did not work because it was deployed above limits. If the limits are 133KIAS and the SR22 goes 180KIAS, what the use of having Caps and is there some type of airbrake or do you just fly around 133KIAS. Please I am new to aviation. This is a serious question I need answered for my decision on purchasing an aircraft. Thank you for your time.

The Cirrus that went down in California at high speed was well over redline at the time (IFR and iced-up). In all other instances, the chute has worked as advertised and everyone walked away unhurt. In most cases where you would want to pull the chute (engine failure over mountains or water with no place to land) there is no problem slowing it down. In others (like a mid-air where you only have part of an airplane) - at least the chute is an option. In any othr plane, that option is not available at all.

In reply to:

I am interested in purchasing a SR22 GTS? A plane went down in Nordeen Ca. The Caps was activated and did not work because it was deployed above limits. If the limits are 133KIAS and the SR22 goes 180KIAS, what the use of having Caps and is there some type of airbrake or do you just fly around 133KIAS. Please I am new to aviation. This is a serious question I need answered for my decision on purchasing an aircraft. Thank you for your time.

Joe; If, as you say, you are interested in buying any Cirrus, you would do well to invest in the $50 to become a member in COPA. Your question is answered many times over, as well as a thousand questions that you have not yet asked.
But since you are not a member, I will give you the short answer. You don’t pull the chute with the peddle to the metal.
You must first look at the environment when the chute would even be necessary. Lost engine, lost body part, gross disorientation. You are right. It’s not a speed brake. It’s not intended to be a speed brake.