Children & Flying

I have been a pilot for years and new to fatherhood. I haven’t flown much since my daughter has been born due in part to a new found respect for mortality. I’m interested in the Cirrus because of traveling with my family and having the CAPS system.

Here are my questions: At what age do you feel it is safe to take children flying? My main concern is the noise and causing hearing damage. What precautions do you take? Is there a good children’s headset?

Thanks in advance for your response.

In reply to:

I have been a pilot for years and new to fatherhood. I haven’t flown much since my daughter has been born due in part to a new found respect for mortality. I’m interested in the Cirrus because of traveling with my family and having the CAPS system.
Here are my questions: At what age do you feel it is safe to take children flying? My main concern is the noise and causing hearing damage. What precautions do you take? Is there a good children’s headset?

Edward,
First, a big caveat – I’m not a doctor. Second, congratulations on your new paternal status.
I flew with both my children starting from when they were about two years old - of course, this is not something I would have attempted without my wife on board; I need to devote my whole attention to flying, and so she was (for me) a “required crewmember”. My kids shunned the headset at that age, so I let them fly without it. Now, with insights gained from reading what others have written on the Members Discussion forum, I think that I was probably foolish to do that, but lucky, because they seem to have come through it OK. On the other hand, I did very few flights when they were little.
Unabashed Plug: