AOPA Sweepstakes Plane for 2009: SR22 G2

Hello COPA,

My name is Dave Hirschman, and I’m a senior editor for AOPA Pilot magazine and manager of the 2009 AOPA Sweepstakes airplane, a 2005 SR22 G2.

Last week fellow AOPA staff member J.J. Greenway and I got CSIP certifications in preparation for giving flight demos in the airplane during the upcoming flying season. I enjoyed the rigorous SR22 CSIP checkout and look forward to showing people the unique features and vast capabilities of this extraordinary aircraft. I’ll also be relying on COPA members for advice and guidance during the next 11 months as we do our utmost to highlight both the excitement and utility of general aviation.

I’ve been lurking on COPA for some time now and enjoy the lively exchanges and great resources. I look forward to checking in regularly and participating actively throughout the year.

Sincerely,

Dave Hirschman

Dave.Hirschman@aopa.org

Welcome, Dave. Lurking, eh? Probably some fun reading.

How will you guys schedule your tour stops? And who will you invite to participate? Do you have an exhibit to place with the plane?

Cheers
Rick

Hey Dave - Welcome!

Any interest in cross posting your AOPA Blog? We can set that up.

Tom

Welcome Dave!

I hope that in describing this distinctive aircraft you touch upon its vibrant ecosystem, in no small part exemplified by COPA and COPAns.

Dave:

Let me know if you want to get a look at a turbo SR22.

Dave,

I’m glad you brought this up.

I enjoyed reading about COPA member Lloyd Huck donating that aircraft to AOPA for the 2009 sweepstakes. The article in the February edition of AOPA Pilot was very good.

I met Lloyd Huck at a CPPP in Morristown NJ a few years ago. He has an amazing story. I think he told me he was 85 years old, and he was still attending CPPP programs!

I encourage everyone to read the AOPA article in the February edition about an amazing guy and fellow COPA member.