Another story about N20CD

I meant to relate this story about a month ago when it happend, but here it goes:

I took my SR20 to Bimini in the Bahamas to do some diving. The trip originated in Norwood, MA and the route of flight was KOWD-KBWI, KBWI-KDAB, KDAB-MYBS. The return flight was MYBS-KFXE-KDAB-KSAV-KBWI-KBED.

As a VFR pilot, this was a challenging trip. The weather got pretty lousy on the first day, which put us in at BWI after being sent into the clouds by the KDCA controller, I asked for lower (2,500) and after he told me twice that I could not have lower, I did what my first instructor said to do, I told the controller I was turning back to KBWI and I did a 180 at 10 degrees of bank and waited for the clouds to disappear.

Landing at BWI, I was actually pretty happy to be on the ground. The next day was pretty nice and we had an uneventful high (10,000+) flight to Daytona. When we got to Daytona, there was a line of thunderstorms along the coast and some thickening scattered clouds at between 900 and 2,500. We managed to thread the VFR needle into Daytona and drove quickly to the hotel bar where we watched the skies blacken and the palm trees bend in the wind.

The following days flight to Bimini was beautiful, close to perfect. The customs in Bimini was very straightforward and we were diving that afternoon. The Bimini airstrip is daytime only and reported to be 5,000 feet long, although it seemed longer.