Anecdotal Evidence

I am a newly minted instrument pilot and researching my first plane purchase. On paper (specs, avionics, value, looks, etc.) Cirrus is clearly the way to go for my mission profile. My question, even if it is only anecdotal evidence, is how does a Cirrus (3 Bld) compare to other aircraft as it relates to cabin noise levels? Is a SR22 cabin quieter than say a new 182 or a supersoundproofed Bonanza?

I will be at AOPA Expo in October and will discuss this with the Cirrus factory Reps, but I would like to know, from Cirrus pilots, how the cabin noise compares to other aircraft.

Thanks

I’ve never taken a sound pressure level reading in the Cirrus but my subjective feeling is that it is slightly noiser than a recent model Bonanza or Saratoga. That’s without a headset.
If you use an ANR headset (and I strongly recommend you do in ANY light aircraft) then the differences between aircraft seem minimal to me. They are all reasonably quiet. I do not have any noise fatigue or persistent tinnitus (ringing in the ears) even after a 5 hour flight using an ANR headset.

I suspect that the anecdotal evidence you’ll get from Cirrus owners is that their aircraft run fasterand jump higher (OK, fellow middle agers, I’m dating myself) than anything else on the block, and that cabin noise is somewhat subjective (and hard to compare.) You could fly around with an SPL meter, but that may not tell you what your experience would be.

At the end of the day, all cabins are too loud for me to bear without headsets, and a couple of decent ANR headsets don’t cost much relative to the airplane (and you can listen to tunes while you fly.)

One issue that you should consider is that faster airplanes have more wind noise, so there’s somewhat of an apples-to-oranges comparison between a Cirrus and a Cessna.