#61 training day

Dave and I started training around 2pm. We started by meeting our flight instructor Kara who is very good with the sr20. The lesson starts with ground, this can be a long session or a refresher if you have done the work sheets in the training manual that is sent early by wings aloft if you request it.(It seemed to help us a lot!) After ground we started flight training.Pretty straight foward, landing,steep turns,emerg ops,radios.The weather for our training was 800 ovc on a good day. So we went north ro internatioal falls for good weather and trained across the border in canada. On our way to internation falls we flew imc a good portion,this plane is rock solid and a breeze in imc with the garmins and the autopilot. It made me laugh when we got a 20 min hold and all we did was follow the picture on the garmin. If you are rusty on the entry to the hold that is ok the garmin tells you as you approach the hold.(I was waiting for a voice to come from the garmin saying turn left dummy!)The stec 55 coupled the approach and took us to the runway.( just in case we have a c pack,3 blade,leather.)On our way back we lost our transponder and it had to be replaced. Dave and I were concerned because it was the labor day weekend and the factory was closed, but one call to the 800 phone number and they were down replacing it that night. Great job Cirrus, now that what we call customer service! Stay tuned for the next long winded,babbling story about our ride home to ca…Ed

AS I can tell. you’re liking your experience with your Cirrus and the Cirrus people. What dticks in my mind is “We lost the transponder.” That strikes me as a casual expectation of things to break in aviation. This Forum is scores of failures on 50 new planes. In the meanwhile, your our 50 computers, printers,etc at the office hum along year after year. We don’t buy maintenace contracts because failures are so rare.