Stormscope - what do you get out of it

I am currently at the stage of specifying my options for my Cirrus. So far it’s config B, with dual alternators, and tentatively with Sandel and Avidyne EX5000C

Firstly I have got to say this forum is great. It’s helped me make some decisions. I will send the forum the bill for the Sandel!

I am a VFR pilot and working on my instrument rating at the moment. I am trying to figure out whether to get Stormscope. The best answer to this depends on what type of flying I plan to do and where I plan to fly. However I was looking for some feedback on what people with Stormscope get out of it.

Is it the reassurance that comes from being able to see the storms when in cloud and then avoid them?

Does it add much in terms of decreasing the likelihood you will be held up by bad weather?

Thanks in anticipation
Tony Shields

Tony,

I find the stormscope pretty handy. Flying on the east coast, many summer afternoons end up with some widely scattered thunderstorms. The sscope is useful for avoiding those areas when you may not be able to see them (either you might be in clouds or perhaps the strikes are 20+ miles away and you might not be able to see that far in the summer haze).

It’s also useful for seeing the long range picture when viewing the 200 nm range on the MFD. Nice to know if your route, an hour from now, might be near some big convective activity, even if everything looks great out the window right now.

I also flew for some time in the SF bay area a few years back. In that environment, given the scarcity of storms, I’d probably not spend the money on the stormscope.

Just my opinion…

Steve

I live in the midwest and wouldn’t leave home without the scope. Per the other responses, it will help keep you out of place you don’t want to wander into.

Tony: Another option to consider is the satellite weather receiver for the Avidyne. Take a look at the Avidyne web site for both the weather receiver and the engine monitor screens.