One more thing to worry about

Listening to the story about the death of David Bloom of MSNBC made me concerned. They say the many hours in the hummvee, and the associated lack of his ability to stretch and move around, contributed to the "embolism. This also reminded me of a case about a year back where a lady also died of an embolism on an airliner. The contributing factor was that she was on a long trip and could not, or did not move around…
Perhaps I just need something to worry about, but I sometimes make long trips in the confines of my SR20. Well, I cant get up and walk around, and I can barely stretch so I am wonderin . . . Is there something, or some type of stretching that can be done to minimize the risk of embolisms while confined to a “flight” position for many hours. Is there a doctor in the house?

Unless you have a medical condition already, I think you would run out of fuel before you were in a SR 20 long enough to have a problem.

I am no doctor but this is what I have been told.

Mason

Dennis,
If you ever get a blood clot in your legs (anywhere)…YOU KNOW! Long before you form a clot large enough to break off and kill you…the pain leading up to that point is ‘tough stuff’. You’ll get the heads up if something is wrong.

I had 3 major clots in my left leg in '96 after double hip replacement surgery. The 18 hrs. leading up to the ‘emergency’ emergency room visit were unbearable after major doses of percacet and valium.

Bloom was told 8-10 hours before to get out of there and seek medical treatment…Apparently he continued on.

Sitting in a Cirrus, your legs are stretched out, clots behind the knee can/will form if your leg(s) stays bent +45 degrees or more for a very long time.
Plus my bladder and my comfort level need to get down every 2.5 hrs. or so. It is then convenient to top off the fuel too.