2008 Turbo Normalized - Experience with High Boost run-up and ALT 1

Hi everyone!

This is my first post. I’ve been flying Cirrus SR22’s for the most part for the past 13 years. I thought I would post my experience today to share and see if anyone can offer me any insight.

I went out to fly today at my home field of KVNY (Van Nuys, CA) in a 2008 SR-22TN. Started up, got my TEC clearance and went to runway 16R to do a run-up. Upon beginning my before takeoff checklist I immediately noticed the engine wasn’t running quite right. Just a little rough or maybe a plug issue. That wouldn’t be the first time that’s happened on the Cirrus. Total time between startup and run-up was probably 10 minutes max. The weather was pretty nice today, don’t know if that’s a factor in what I’m about to describe but it was about 75 degrees.

So before going through the entire checklist I thought let me see if this is a plug issue and see if I can clear it. I pulled back the mixture a little less than 2/3 of full and ran the engine up to about 2200 rpm and kept it there for about a minute. Immediately after that I reduced power to 1000 rpm and noticed it was running rough still. Did it again for a minute and same result. The A/C was running. Upon completing the second round of attempting to clear the plug of potential crud I immediately noticed the ALT 1 went yellow. On the engine page it was producing 0 to +1 charge. Power went up to 1700 just to make sure it wasn’t a low engine rpm issue. The warning was still there and wouldn’t go away. I initially thought there is a short or some issue with ALT 1 altogether. Instinctively I thought let me turn off the A/C (set the fan to zero) so the fan and compressor go off. As soon as I did that the ALT 1 came alive, the flashing yellow warning disappeared and was producing normal charge. I was able to reproduce the issue with ALT 1 but turning the A/C back on.